top of page
Search
Writer's pictureIndigenous Exclusive

Hallong: The Chakma word which doesn't have it’s English existence on Google.


"Hallong" is a food carrier friend of human. Most people take his help for carrying vegetables in the local market. He is also used for various household purposes. He is helpful but interestingly, not all of us are acquainted with him. So The Indigenous Exclusive Team decided to take an interview with him to know about his thoughts.


Interviewer: Hello Hallong! Can you introduce yourself to us? And how is your lockdown going?

Hallong: Hello! I am Hallong you all. I am your everyday vegetable carrier from Jhum to the local market. Most of you see me daily in the local market but never care to wave even a hello though! Anyway, My lockdown is going quite boring, I stay in my human friend's home the whole day.

Interviewer: I feel deeply sorry for you. Moving to a different topic, I was always curious how your body is built. Can you tell us something about that?


Hallong: Humans design my body in an intriguing method. First, they tear out Bamboos into small pieces; then they bask those bamboos in the open sun until a foldable form is made. After that, they designed it in the body shape of me.

Interviewer: What about the rope tied with you?

Hallong: It comes from the bark of a tree which the locals address as "Udol Gach".

Interview: You seem simple yet so designed. Do you want to add something to our interview?


Hallong: Yeah! I need humans to give me an English name Immediately. I feel envious of my friend "Bosta" who has such a fancy English name "Sack" ah!

Interview: Yeah, Our writer of this interview also faced the difficulty of finding you on google. Again sorry but, We can't promise you that.

Hallong: Such a pity! Then do one thing. Try to keep my existence alive at least. These days I am replaced by Sack on lots of occasions.

Interview: That seems easier. We will give our best on that!


Written by Sushmit Chakma


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page