top of page
Search
Writer's pictureIndigenous Exclusive

Boxer Sura Krishna Chakma took the champion crown in boxing


Sura Krisna Chakma, a boxer who hails from Rangamati took the gold medal by becoming champion in Bangabandhu 9th Bangladesh Games.

This final event took place on Thursday 8th April at Muhammad Ali Boxing Stadium in Dhaka.

After eight long years, I saw this gold again in 2021. Surely I feel very happy. But it was not easy to keep the pace of the game for so many years. If I didn't have hard work and passion, I couldn't keep myself fit." He also wanted blessings for himself.


Sur Krishna Chakma said that “Although Rajshahi City had a fairly easy win over Mohammad Al Sunny in the championship match, the previous semi-final was not so straightforward. I was injured. But I didn't let anyone understand, I continued the game. This achievement obtained in return for so much hard work is therefore very emotional to me."


In 2013, in his national debut, he became the national champion by beating the then champion, Arif Hossain. Besides, internationally-acclaimed kickboxer Ali Jacko invited him to London for training where he had to undergo training for 6 months.


In 2018 he again brought glory for us by winning against state champion of Haryana, India. In 2019, he got bronze medal at the 13th South Asian Games which was held at Nepal .

His dedication and hard work paid off as he eventually won medals both home and abroad .Besides boxing, he is a student of Dhaka University in History Department.

14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page