top of page
Search
Writer's pictureIndigenous Exclusive

A sneak peek at how Prejual Prajna Chakma absorbed into Modeling Industry




There is a common scenario between all of us. Binge-watching lots of Korean dramas and thinking every Chakma woman you meet is Korean.

We always have to face this type of situation. Hence, Prejual Prajna Chakma was not an exception either; but she is here to challenge that.

Graduating from Monash University, Malaysia, Prejual Prajna Chakma is here in Bangladesh since the pandemic. She is currently utilizing her free time doing shoots for different brands in Bangladesh. Indigenous Exclusive Team thought to have a conversation with her. Here is the full interview.


Prejual Prajna Chakma is a model from the Chakma community- based in Bangladesh currently. Previously she worked with Sozpodor Indigenous Textile, Klubhouse, Project FOMO, Zurhem, Stridesco.com, ROAR clothing, etc.


When did you start modeling? What made you decide to be a model?


I made my debut as a model in one of Tenzing Chakma's shows in 2010 by walking on the runway. To my surprise, for that month’s issue, I ended up appearing on the cover of Daily Star. Ever since I was young, I have always wanted to be a model. I wanted to be a model internationally where I could have a platform to advocate indigenous rights. But I decided to pursue my studies first before going into the industry if I were to. I went to study in Malaysia; and even there, I got scouted by different agencies to be a model. However I couldn’t commit to modeling since I was a student in Monash, and it did not allow me to work legally. I still ended up helping out students in the fashion industry to create their portfolio, and local musicians by being their model while staying in Malaysia. Other than that, I also got scouted by a well-known Singaporean agency, and brands like Sunsilk, etc.


How was the starting of your journey? were your parents agreed indeed?


Although the journey of getting my parents fully on board wasn’t easy, slowly I could explain to them how modeling has always been my passion. I always felt I was born to be a model. You know, some people do not require courses to be good at something, it comes naturally for them. The same goes for me and posing in front of the camera. To be a good model, just simply posing doesn’t do the work. You need to understand your client's content and study what they need. Hence, I give my best to meet my client's vision. As I mentioned, when I started modeling, it was my peak time to make it international because I did have few opportunities come my way then. But I was young, and my parents wanted me to finish my

studies first. However, since I finished my bachelors, I have now decided to pursue modeling professionally; and once I make a decision, I make sure I stand on it. So far I have never regretted anything that I have decided in life. Besides that, I am a family-oriented person too; so I discuss all of my decisions with them. I also promise them that whatever decisions I make about my life, I want them to trust me with and that I will make them proud. I don't believe in society deciding my life for me. I can respect opinions, but they are not the determining factor for my life decisions- they have never been. Because I decide my life on the basis of what makes me happy. I made my parents understand that. Eventually my parents saw that even though my decisions may be risky, they are not insensible. Hence they became very supportive. Nowadays, my mom often comes across people recognizing me and complimenting my work- she mentioned she feels very proud when she hears them.


Have you faced any obstacles being an indigenous model?


The thing is I am very selective while choosing clients. Which is why I make sure the ones I work with are respectful and are all from great backgrounds. Hence, I never had to face any struggle. Some clients even ended up becoming very close to me as well.

But if you mention struggle in terms of my looks, something that irks me is people constantly associating my “beauty” with Korean standards. That makes me feel as if one is only pretty or beautiful if they look Korean. That’s when rather than enjoying such remarks and getting attention in that light, I make sure I correct them right away and state that I am a Chakma and I am Bangladeshi.


Would you like to continue your modeling career for the next five years?


Life is very uncertain. You never know what will happen tomorrow. But I am also a person with goals and vision. So for now I will continue doing what I love. Hopefully, who knows, my dream has always been to appear on a Vogue cover someday if possible- and that might just come to pass, haha.


Would you like to encourage other indigenous females to be in this field?


Being in the modeling industry on and off for quite some time now, I know it is not easy for everyone to be a model. Because everyone who wants to pursue modeling somewhat knows they have the appearance to be in front of the camera, and there are many out there all over the world who want that and have much to offer. In that case, I wanna encourage girls from the indigenous community that if you believe that you have it in you to be a model, go for it; don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. But more than your appearance to offer to the industry, work on what’s inside to stand out. Beauty will fade, but wearing kindness genuinely and having a cooperative mindset is what gonna make you successful.

Written by Arjyashree Chakma



290 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page